Education: Johnstown Flood Museum

Johnstown Area Heritage Association
Student Activity

Healing Takes Time

Rows of wooden barracks

The Johnstown Flood was the first big disaster for the brand-new American Red Cross. They were in Johnstown for months running infirmaries like these pictured here, providing housing, and distributing supplies.

Events in Johnstown's Recovery June -December 1889

Friday, May 31

Flood hits Johnstown at roughly 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, June 1

3:00 Citizens Committee planning meeting at Adams Street Schoolhouse:

Sunday, June 2

Monday, June 3

Wednesday, June 5

Friday, June 12

Sunday, June 9

Wednesday, June 12

Wednesday, June 19

Thursday, June 20

Tuesday, June 25

Thursday-Friday, June 27-28

July 1

July 4

July 5

July 8

July 13

July 22

July 27

July 31

August 1

August 14

October 5

October 12

December 10

From History of Cambria County by Storey (1907) and The Johnstown Flood by McCullough

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2013 Johnstown Area Heritage Association